Posted by: anavrivas | 29/10/2012


(by María Pereira Blanco and Ana Valín Rivas)

Dublin is the capital and most populous city of Ireland. The English name for the city is derived from the Irish name Dublhinn, meaning “black pool”. This city is situated near the mindpoint of Ireland’s east coast, at the mouth of the River Liffey and the centre of the Dublin Region.

In this city, there is a very important building: The Parliament of Ireland. The Parliament of Ireland was a legislature that exixted in dublin from 1297 until 1800. In its early medieval period during the Lordships of Ireland it consisted  of either two or three chambers: the House of Commons, the House of  Lords and a House of  Proctors. This building was finished in 1739. In 1800 this was left, because Ireland was part of  the United Kingdom, and there wasn’t any reasons to have two Parliaments.

Near this building, we can see the National Museum of Ireland. It has three branches in Dublin and one in Country Mayo, with a strong emphasis on Irish art, culture and natural history.

Dublin is also famous because most of its doors are painted in different colours. For example: green, blue, read, orange and yellow.

Near this city there are a lot of beautiful places, one of them is Glendalough. Glendalough is a glacial valley in County Wicklow, Ireland. It is renowned for its Early Medieval monastic settlement founded in the 6th century.




%d bloggers like this: